top of page



Invited to apply for World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award.

Earlier this year World Sailing initiated a distinguished award to recognize organizations, projects, or individuals working with sustainable matters in line with Agenda 2030. Shortly before the closing date, I received an email from Dan Reading, Sustainability Programme Manager:

"Dear Bjorn, we think that the 100 sunwindwater campaign aligns with our sustainability strategy, therefore we would like to invite you to apply for our award."

Wow, we were invited by World Sailing! Of course, we applied. This morning we were informed that we did well, but four other applicants made it as final nominees. I bow myself for these four great projects and on behalf of my young crew members, I congratulate them all for their great achievements. May the best one of these four win the award and may all 28 applicants continue the work for ocean health and sustainability:

Atlantic Cup

The Atlantic Cup was the first carbon-neutral race in the United States (2012) as well as the first ISO 20121 compliant sports event in the USA (2016). They banned single-use water bottles (2011) and to require teams to use alternative energy (2012). They feature Atlantic Cup Kids, an education program that promotes ocean health and sustainability.

Corpus Christi Yacht Club

The Corpus Christi Yacht Club (CCYC) volunteer Green Team organized the first World Sailing Championship with a focus on ocean conservation and sustainability. They have implemented sustainable practices and created educational opportunities and legacy programs.

The Green Blue

A joint initiative between the Royal Yachting Association (RYA) and British Marine. They raise awareness of how UK sailing can become more environmentally sustainable. They develop guidance and resources to encourage and support environmental good practices for individual sailors, clubs, centers, and boating businesses.

Project Litefoot

A charitable trust led by ten of New Zealand's sports heroes. They inspire New Zealanders to be environmental champions using the spirit of sport. They have been helping sailing and other community sports clubs to reduce their environmental impact and to be electricity independent, water neutral, and zero waste by 2025.

The judging panel will vote on the winner and the recipient will be announced at the 2018 World Sailing Awards, set to be held on Tuesday 30 October 2018 in Sarasota, Florida, USA. The winner will receive the $10,000 USD prize fund as well as an iconic perpetual trophy made from recycled carbon fiber (from an America's Cup boat) and bioresin.

We will continue our work and apply again...




bottom of page